Keeping Busy

11 Jan

With my new mindset in place I’ve been keeping myself busy and active. It makes the times when I find myself just sitting on the couch enjoyable and not repetitive.

I went to a good old fashioned girly sleepover this past weekend! Ate junk food, gossiped, played Girl Talk, painted our nails and used face masks. It was like being 13 all over again, except I never did that when I was 13 and there was wine. I took advantage of the fact that a group of people would be together and made one of my favorite dips, Jalapeno Popper Dip. It’s absolutely amazing and absolutely bad for you. Which is why I always wait for a get together to make it or else I’d end up eating it all by myself, especially since it’s super easy to make!

I also brought the homemade face masks. I had found some “recipes” on Pinterest and wanted to try it out but again couldn’t justify making it for just me, so this was the perfect opportunity. I’m not going to lie I thought these were a little gross. Maybe it was because I thought that the consistency should be more of a paste and it looked like a smoothie. Or maybe it was because there was raw egg mixed in but either way I debated just throwing it all away.  But I had already told everyone I’d bring face masks and since I’m cheap and didn’t want to throw money away I brought it along. There wasn’t much involved, just blend ingredients then spread on face. And all the girls were great about it, even though I had to keep saying “Stop licking your face, there’s raw egg in there”! Which now that I think about it is totally hypocritical of myself since I wouldn’t think twice of eating raw cookie dough.

It was so much fun! While at the party, one of the girls mentioned that she wanted to start working out more and right away my ears perked up. I’ve been trying to get myself back in shape and although my eating habits have gotten better I haven’t been able to stick to a workout plan. Having a workout buddy is what I’ve been looking for since I feel like it’ll help me to not give up as easily. And working out with someone new would also help me in opening myself up to new people too! So I left my comfort zone of just thinking I should talk to them and actually did, so we met up to go for a hike in the park!

I love taking walks in the park and definitely did not take advantage of that when I lived right next door to the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. There’s something about being “lost” in nature that makes me feel at peace. Just the realization that a tiny piece of me got to be a part of all the beauty and history makes me smile. It was amazing (and muddy) to just hike through the trees. Of course being the clumsy person I am I did fall and have to continue my hike with a cold and wet butt, nothing new though.

I’m definitely stepping out of the security blanket I had wrapped around myself already this year. Although I’m still nervous to change my mindset, it just feels like now is the time. If I want to change and experience all that life has to offer I have to be the one to do it!

Enjoy the recipes. And definitely let me know if you make the face mask and it turns out differently!

Jalapeno Popper Dip

-2 packs of cream cheese

-1 cup of mayo

-2 cups parmesan cheese

-8 oz green chilies

-8 oz canned jalapenos (chopped and drained)

-panko breadcrumbs

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Mix cream cheese, mayo, green chilies, jalapenos and 1 cup of cheese together.

3. Pour mixture into oven safe dish. Top with remaining cheese and layer of breadcrumbs.

4. Bake for 30 minutes.

(Recipe adapted from AllRecipes.com)

Homemade Juice Mask for Oily Skin

-1 tsp lemon juice

-2 egg whites

-3 tsp honey

-1 cup strawberries

1. Blend ingredients together.

2. I put then mixture into the fridge in the hopes that it would solidify some, but it never did. When you’re ready put the mixture on your face and let it sit for 10 minutes (some of the girls noticed that it did harden on their faces).

3. Rinse off. They claim that this recipe makes enough for 2 people, but I doubled it and there was probably enough for 10.

(Recipe from About.com)

2 Responses to “Keeping Busy”

  1. Judy February 2, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Can you tell us more about this? I’d care to find out some additional information.

Leave a Reply

